Handbag Handles

Many of you have emailed me asking how I make the handles for my handbags so here it is:

I buy heavyweight belting in a natural color at Joanns

Then I buy ribbon that coordinates with my fabric choices (I use 2 ribbons most of the time)

I then use the cream/natural color thread in my bobbin and the matching ribbon color on top

(this way you cant see the color thread underneath the handle)

I lay the second ribbon on top of the first (different width) and do the same thing again.

Final Result should look like this: The heavyweight belting is pretty darn sturdy and makes great handles you can customize πŸ™‚

That’s it! πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Handbag Handles

  1. Hey Mimi, Did you mean to stitch the smallest ribbon to the larger one first? Then sew the set of ribbons to the canvas webbing? I think that is what you meant, but YOU ARE the pro! This way, you can have your bobbin thread the color of the webbing, and NEVER have to change it at all. You would just have to change your needle thread only ONCE to match ribbon #2.

  2. Oh Yea Mimi, I went to Joann’s to look at your sweater knit, and want to know something? Though I ‘felt up’ millions of yards of fabric, I DID NOT buy any, and I am still on the wagon! I will make the Simplicity pattern sale for $0.99 next weekend. The whole Simplicity catalog has hundreds of pages, and ONLY 4 pages for men! Maybe I should sue…

  3. Once again, YOU KILL ME!!!!!I don’t know how you do it. I’m curiously drawn to checking in on your productivity but it does a SERIOUS number on my self esteem. You are amazing. You sew amazing clothes and look even more amazing wearing them. Ginger in Maryland

Leave a Reply

