Pattern Review M5759 and Award!

LOL! I am just finding out that I won a PR award πŸ™‚ yay! for me and thanks to all of you who voted for me.

Pattern Description: Semi-fitted jacket with princess seams, flaps, front band and two-piece sleeves; jacket A has standing collar; jackets B, C have collar with collar band; jacket C has belt with buckle; button closing

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions for this jacket are great, easy to follow!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love this pattern, I love the details and I love the way it looks. I love the way the button holes are done in the seams so you cant see them and I love that it is fully lined and that the collar looks the way it does on the envelope, I would suggest hand sewing the seam buttonholes closed after your done by hand and just remember when you are working with curves to pin and clip it makes it so much easier. The weight of my fabric was heavy enough that I did not interface it, not even the collar. I added a loop in the CB of my lining so I can hook it to my coat rack..lol

Fabric Used: I used a corduroy

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I did not make any changes to this.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I dont know if I would sew it again but I might ..lol and yes I would recommend this pattern.

Conclusion:
I love this Jacket. I also made a pencil skirt to match and wore it as a suit to church on sunday

click images to enlarge

Hem on the lining

My loop πŸ™‚ lol

The seam buttonholes

The flap and I love that you cant even see the buttonholes in the seams πŸ™‚

On the dress form

19 thoughts on “Pattern Review M5759 and Award!

  1. That’s gorgeous! I saw you up on PR…I’m not there much but was searching yesterday for some reviews on a few patterns I’ll be making. Congrats!

  2. The suit is amazing – the colour is stunning on you!! I am now planning on adding it to my “to-sew” pile of patterns. I too would like to know what skirt pattern you used as it’s also lovely.Just one question – can you wear the jacket undone as well or does it look odd?

  3. Congrats on your PR award! I love the suit as with all your work. I am currently making a corduroy pencil skirt in a similar color. Now I am more excited to get it done.

Leave a Reply

