Pattern Review: B4815, SD Pants and B5088

Butterick 5088 View B

Pattern Description: High hip-lined jacket has front and sleeve variations

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? The jacket is super easy to put together so I didnt use the instructions I just read through them once before starting.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the look of View B which is the one I made.

Fabric Used: 100% camel color wool

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I didnt change much I just added two things. The first being the tabs from View A which I like so I used them on my version and I added an inside welt pocket to the lining just because I felt like it..lol

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? No because I have so much more I want to sew but it was a fin coat to make.

Conclusion: I love this jacket it came out perfect.

before I added the Sleeve Tabs

I lined it with a silk essence in chocolate brown from Joanns

This is the inside welt pocket I made so I can put my CC or ID in it or whatever.

The sleeves with the tabs on

another view

Butterick 4815 Vest & Self Drafted Pants
Pattern Description: Vest B4815 & Pants are Self Drafted

Pattern Sizing: Vest I cut a size 6, Pants I used the pattern I made for my jeans

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Vest: Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? This vest is super easy to make.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like this pattern because it is fast and looks really cute!

Fabric Used: Brushed Corduroy

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None for Vest, for my pants I made a simple waistband and used a small self covered button. No back pockets because I wanted a smooth backside..lol

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I will always use my own pants patterns because it is just a great fit and I will take another pic when I wear them. The vest is always a good go-to pattern.

Conclusion: Love it, the whole outfit is just hot 🙂 LOL

click images to enlarge

Add Image

10 thoughts on “Pattern Review: B4815, SD Pants and B5088

  1. Love the vest and pants Great jacket also. I like the idea of the welt pocket on the inside jacket. My goal for 2009 is to be able to post pictures of my finished garments .i

  2. Lauren said the pants and vest look like a pop stars’s outfit and I agree. I can see that outfit with a big hobo bag, big hoop earrings and giant sunglasses! Meet you at the mall!we like the jacket too Lauren wants me to make her one in green to wear to church.

Leave a Reply

