Pattern Reviews M5531 & V8305

Pattern Description: Vogue 8305 Dress

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 6

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? I didnt use them but I did read through them once before I started and they seemed fine.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the way this dress looks, and I love the neck and the gathering at the side seam.

Fabric Used: Double Knit

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None! this fit right out of the envelope, I couldnt believe it..lol

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Oh Yeah!

Conclusion: I love this dress 🙂 lol

click images to enlarge

Plaid Jacket
Pattern Description: McCalls 5531

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes I think so

Were the instructions easy to follow? Super Easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I have made this pattern before in a Houndstooth but I really wanted to make it again with the longer sleeve version.

Fabric Used: Plaid something or another

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: none but the challenge with matching the plaid was a pain in my *ss

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I think I will retire this pattern for now..lol

Conclusion: I think it’s hot but the Best part is the belt I made for it using the purchased leather closures 🙂

click images to enlarge

24 thoughts on “Pattern Reviews M5531 & V8305

  1. How many kids do you “claim” to have?! lol you’re body is SICKlove the plaid jacket 🙂 i want to try my hand at a plaid jacket or shirt but ummmm i’m not ready to fight the battle. lol

  2. I deleted my previous post because I forgot to ask you something. Anwyay, that dress is HOT!!! It fits you perfectly. I also love the belt on that jacket with those leather closures. Everything you make is top notch. Here is what I wanted to ask you: where did you get those purple shoes? I love them with the black dress.

  3. I have some of that plaid fabric in my stash… I never could figure out what to do with it. Now I wish I wouldn’t have ‘wasted’ some if it by using it as a muslin! Both projects are gorgeous!

  4. I am lovin’ that plaid jacket girl. It IS hot! And those shoes are slammin’And don’t be mad girl but you STILL have you Christmas decorations up?! LOL :O) I ain’t hatin’, just saying…LOL.

  5. Mimi, I can’t WAIT to see if you’re going to do Vogue 1087. I thought of it when I saw the black dress — Both are gorgeous. As usual. xox

  6. the outfit is very prettyalso i want to buy a dress form that will be a good size to make clothes that fit me and that is a good size to make clothes for adults i am 15 years old but i am kind of small so i wasnt sure if buying an adjustable dress form is the way to go. could you maybe do a blog about what things you should have in a fashion studio where to buy them and what are reasonable prices to buy them at?

Leave a Reply

