Pattern Review M5314 and S2758

McCalls 5314 View B

click to enlarge (sorry for the crappy pic)

Pattern Description: Dresses A, B, C have princess seams, collar with collar band, forward shoulder seams, flared skirt, self ties and sleeve variations; dress A has armhole facings; dress B has gathered sleeve with pleats and binding; dress C has three-quarter length sleeve with cuffs.

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 6

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions are super simple.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the whole thing, the bodice is easy to fit with multiple sizes for B, C, D cups etc..

Fabric Used: Cotton Swiss Dot in an eggplant color

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: I didnt make any changes, the dress came together very easy. The only thing I will warn you about is the “NEVER ENDING FREAKIN HEM” I swear I was sewing the hem FOREVER….LOL

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would recommend it!

Conclusion: Love it!!!

Simplicity 2758 View C


Pattern Description: Skirts

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Well Kinda

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, they are easy enough

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the skirt but there were a few things I did different.

Fabric Used: A wonderful wool plaid

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: Okay, the first thing is that after I made the skirt I put it on the wrong way with the zipper to the back (it supposed to be a side zipper but when I put it on wrong I realized that I liked the effect of the center seam with the plaid so I left it this way. NOW really there is no change to the skirt it is technically sewn correctly I am just choosing to wear it with the zipper to the CB instead of to the side…lol and it works 🙂

Also, I fully lined the skirt, I just wanted something soft against my skin 🙂 I will show pics of that later 🙂

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I think I might 🙂 and I do recommend it. to the side 😉

Conclusion: Love this skirt, I am making a matching vest and a coordinating striped blouse which should be done by weeks end.

9 thoughts on “Pattern Review M5314 and S2758

  1. Ooh, ooh! I love this skirt… I mean the dress is simply fabulous (great cut) but the skirt has reminded me of why I wanted to begin sewing in the first place. You’ve given me the kick up the you-know that I’ve needed. If I sew nothing else this year, it’s going to be ‘the perfect skirt’!

  2. Mimi, I love that skirt!! I’ve got this pattern on my living room floor right now, cutting the tissue. The purple dress is beautiful too. You’re so productive!!

Leave a Reply

