Pattern Review: M5525


click images to enlarge

McCalls 5525 View C

Pattern Description: Semi-fitted, lined, double-breasted jacket and coat have collar, lengths and sleeve variations, shoulder pads, princess seams and side front pockets; jackets A, C, coats B, D, E have belt carriers; jacket C, coat E have epaulets with button closure; coat E has pocket flaps with button trim; jacket C, coat E have collar tab; jacket C has front yoke; jacket C, coat E have back buttoned yoke; coats B, E, jacket C have sleeves with button bands; jackets A, C, coats B, D, E have topstitch trim, button closure; jackets A, C and coats D, E have self-tie belt.

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes it did

Were the instructions easy to follow? Super easy to follow

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the whole thing.

Fabric Used: Dunno, it was this really great almost quilted fabric I found at Joanns.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: None.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I loved it and will sew another one for spring.

Conclusion: Fabulous!


More Views:

The lining, of course I had to use a colorful lining 🙂

34 thoughts on “Pattern Review: M5525

  1. Wow! what a gorgeous jacket. I just cut view A last night. This is such a great pattern. I like all the different options with the neckline, sleeves and length…Hope to be done with mine soon…..

  2. Love it! I just bought some of that fabric at Joann’s last week. It’s very Banana Republic to me. I’m thinking of making a skirt with it, though after seeing this post, I kind of wish I had enough to make a jacket!

  3. Thanks for posting this.I love the fabric choice very fun! I just pulled this pattern out of my box from last year. I am planing on making it. Ive never made a jacket. Was that a cotton fabric, and how thick? Thanks

Leave a Reply

