PR: M5936

Pattern Description: Semi-fitted princess seamed jackets A, B have separate lapels, flared peplums and sleeve variations.

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 6

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yeah

Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions were fine but the way they you attach the lining is just dumb. I dont understand why they have you put the lining together minus the sleeves then attach the lining hand sew the hem and then hand sew the lining sleeves in…why? when I constructed the lining with the sleeves bagged the jacket and hand sewed the lining to the jacket at the hem… super easy, less hand sewing and much neater. anyway, save yourself the time and do what I did..lol 🙂

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the pattern but for some reason I hate it on me. It’s constructed so well and I even used some tailoring tricks but I just dont like it now..lol maybe it’s the fact that I am trying it on with an awful tshirt and jeans..lol

Fabric Used: Boucle

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: none

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? no 😦

Conclusion: I don’t know why I don’t like this on me and its a shame cuz I took my time and even made bound buttonholes..lol

18 thoughts on “PR: M5936

  1. It is beautiful but it does look like the bodice could be slightly longer on your body as compared to the pattern photo…… are you typically long waisted? You did an incredible job on the jacket…..

  2. I like it. I did notice when I made mine, that it was a lot shorter than the envelope and I lengthened! You should try it with a sheath dress or a high waisted skirt.

  3. I loved the jacket. As with some of the other posts I think it would look lovely with a high-waisted black, pencil skirt or a princess seamed simple black dress with a beautiful pair of pumps. In regards to the pattern itself, I don't know why but pattern companies do some of the strangest things in regards to directions sometimes. I really feel sorry for inexperienced sewers due to this. Your modification for the directions are spot on and have simplified the construction.Another great project!

  4. I understand your feeling. I like the jacket on the pattern envelope, but when I when I've seen it made and worn there is just something about it that isn't quite right. I love everything you make however.

  5. Your work is always impeccable! However, I agree with Erica B.you should try it on with a high-waist pencil skirt or sheath dress and then decide. It looks like it could be longer cuz your body is perfect!

  6. It may well be as you point out already, the jacket is super-neat and beautifully made but maybe with the right clothes underneath you will really come to like it very much. It's just gorgeous. Wish I could make stuff like that!

Leave a Reply

