PR: V8593

Pattern Description: Dress (I still need to finish the hem)

Pattern Sizing: I cut a size 6

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yeah

Were the instructions easy to follow? yeah they were fine, i didn’t really use them but i did look at them before starting.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? well let’s see, I like the dress itself, how it looks, fits etc. but there are a few things to keep in mind when making this one up. It says to use a heavier knit so I did, I used a lightweight double knit, however, because of the pleating at the neck it causes a bit of thickness so when you add the facing it will not stay inside because it just too thick so this is what I did, I used a binding method instead of the facing cuz I hate facings anyway. The double knit may have been bit to thick so keep that in mind.

I also like that the darts in the back are taken all the way down to the hem. I also HATE when such a smooth lined dress has a zipper in the back so instead i put it on the side just under the arm. I normally would not use a zipper but the DK does not have that much stretch so it just makes it easier to put on.

Fabric Used: Double Knit

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Just the few I mentioned above

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? not sure about making it again but I like it.

9 thoughts on “PR: V8593

  1. O.k., I dig it but can you take a photo with it on once you finish the hem. Please? I ask because I didn't like your jeans on the mannequin but thought they looked great on you! (No offense intended anywhere in this msg.) Oh btw, thanks for sharing with us. I'm always curious do see what you are doing. Mimi ROCKS! lol

Leave a Reply

