DIY: Pattern Review on B5415 Modified

B5415 Modified
I saw this really neat faux suede in the costume section at Joann and new that I needed to make a faux suede top. I also knew that the fabric needed to be the focus so I choose a simple pattern, only thing was the pattern was for a dress so I hacked off the bottom and altered the back view so that it came down to a nice low V, I added a cool gold zipper and altered the length of the sleeves just a bit.

Pattern Description: Misses Dresses

Pattern Sizing: I cut the XS

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? well kind of…lol

Were the instructions easy to follow? This is a fast and easy patten

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked how simple is was and I really liked that it would showcase my fabric.

Fabric Used: Printed Faux Suede

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Well aside from the obvious…making it a top with a slight rounded hem and not a dress I also made the back a low V neck and added a gold visible zipper.

Would you sew it again? I might but not as a dress, maybe another top. Would you recommend it to others? I can recommend it as a top but don’t know how it would look as a dress, its kinda boxy looking.

Conclusion: I love the way my top turned out.

Back View

What I Wore
B5415 Top
Vintage Flare Jeans

Forever 21 Clutch and my new BCBG Sparkle bracelet 🙂
xoxo
mimi g.

5 thoughts on “DIY: Pattern Review on B5415 Modified

  1. Hi Mimi,Have you thought about doing like some other sewing bloggers and creating your own pattern line to sell independently? I would kill for the ankle pants you made in your previous post.

Leave a Reply

