DIY Tutorial on Painting {faux} Leather & Pattern Review on Burda 7303

Hi Guys!

I bought this faux leather at Joann the other day to make a short leather skirt but when I got home it looked kinda cheap and boring so I had a brilliant idea to paint it..lol I had some fabric paint in my craft drawer and decided to give it a try. I used the scraps to test it first and to my surprise it worked! I made a video (below) to show you how I did it and how EASY it is to do. I love the finished product so much.

Here is a picture of the before black and the after. I used Scribbles 3D Paint in an iridescent  brown and kitchen sponge lightly damp.

Here I am wearing the finished skirt 
Video Tutorial!
Pattern Review

Pattern Description: Jacket and Skirt

Pattern Sizing: Size 10 (had to grade down quite a bit)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I suppose

Were the instructions easy to follow? The skirt is really simple so I just reviewed quickly for the sake of review.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the jacket actually which I plan on making soon but I used the skirt pattern for an idea I had to pain the faux leather I got at Joann.

Fabric Used: Faux leather from Joann, hand painted with fabric paint 🙂

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: none to the pattern


12 thoughts on “DIY Tutorial on Painting {faux} Leather & Pattern Review on Burda 7303

  1. That is really a great skirt and what a great idea to paint it BUT….the big question..how did it wear? Did the paint crack once dried? or rub off any? would you be afraid to be caught in the rain? and how do you plan on cleaning the skirt? Do tell!

  2. Garnet128..lol it wore like a dream and the paint does NOT crack at all, it is fabric paint so it is meant to be pliable and since you are using such thin coats its does not change the drape/feel of the skirt at all. I clean it with a damp cloth since the top is vinyl. Oh! and no it does not rub off, it is a permanent fix for sure.I tested it on water just so i could reply and it reacts just like waterproof fabrics..lol

  3. Thank you so much for your reply…The whole idea was so clever that I just had to find out more. Seriously, I just may steal your idea. I'll give you the credit for it tho 😉 Thanks again.

  4. Great Idea! I actually purchased a faux leather from Wal-mart that I love but. . . I have to much! I usually make only one outfit out of a fabric and I'm done with it. So now I can take some of my yardage and make something new!!! Thanks!!!

  5. OMG i been looking for neon yellow faux leather everywhere!! and i bought some of that pleather from joann's to make an oversize clutch i was thinking of spray painting the pleather, but i think i'll try this idea better….. thanks! BTW love your blog!

Leave a Reply

