DIY Tweed Pants & Pattern Review on B5561

B5561 & Self Drafted Pants

Pattern Description: Loose fitting tops

Pattern Sizing: size 8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, they are really clear and easy to follow

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I really like this pattern and I love the print on my fabric. The top is really cute and I like the folded pleat/gather.

Fabric Used: I got a printed charmeuse I picked up in downtown.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I altered the sleeves because I didn’t want them long and I didn’t want the short version they offered so I made them the length that I wanted, lol

Would you sew it again? I will be making one more of these


Would you recommend it to others?  Yes!

Conclusion: I really love this top 

My Tweed Pants



The pants are from a self drafted pattern I made last year, I love this pattern so much and it took me a lot of fitting attempts before I got it just right so I am very proud of it. Now when I sew these up they always fit perfectly!

I love the slim look of these pants!
Here is my fabulous front fly, I use Sandra Betzina’s Method to applying a fly front zipper.

My label and finished fly

I always do a fitting before I sew on my waistband because although I know the pattern is perfect, the fabric reacts differently and they all have a different hand so I try them on to make sure I got a good fit and also depending on the fabric you use you have to take into account that certain fabrics “grow” throughout the day and since this tweed will do that I make them a little tighter with that in mind….you don’t want soggy pants at the end of the day 🙂

What I Wore:
B5561 Top
Self Drafted Pants
Steve Madden Nude Pumps
Badgley Mischka Clutch
5 thoughts on “DIY Tweed Pants & Pattern Review on B5561

  1. Your outfit is gorgeous. I would never of looked twice at that blouse pattern envelope but your version is gorgeous. Now that pants wow seriously they are fabulous.

  2. Hi Mimi….. I was going through all pages and came across your self drafted pants I was wondering if you can give me a crash course on how to get started on makeing my pants to fit me perfectly each time. Thanks

Leave a Reply

