DIY Maxi Skirt…..AGAIN

Hello!!

What an insane weekend this was, I had no time for anything! I am almost done with the maxi tut but unfortunately I couldn’t get it finished this weekend but you will have it soon. I wanted to show you what I wore today and my slight variations on the same pattern I used for the print maxi I wore last week, B5650.


I wanted a wider waistband so I added 2″ to the pattern and added belt loops so I could belt it and use it with my sash. I wanted the ties to be wide enough to create a big bow 😉 aside from those few changes the skirt pattern itself wasn’t changed.

I added the pockets in this one and used a poly shantung for the fabric. I love that I can wear it casual and dress it up. I wore my American Eagle Denim Jacket, White Tee & My necklace is from Charlotte Russe

xoxo
mimi g.
142 thoughts on “DIY Maxi Skirt…..AGAIN

  1. I stumbled across your blog today and it was instant love. I watched the vid for the maxi skirt tutorial and was wondering if you plan on adding a vid tutorial for how to make the sash and add the pockets – it would be quite generous of you if you did. Thank you for sharing your creativity.

  2. I saw your skirt on pinterest, would love to wear this to a wedding. Where did you get the pattern to make this? I found the fabric but need big help with the pattern 🙂 Thanks.

  3. Where exactly is the tutorial for this? I can't seem to find it anywhere.My cousin and I are planning a "sewing party" (she has a sewing machine and I don't). I'd love to make this!!

  4. Hi Mimi,i just finished sewing the same skirt pattern using the same fabric.The problem with the fabric is that it frays like crazy. And did you lined the skirt? mine is too sheer. Yours look quite solid.

  5. OMG!!! This skirt is THE BUSINESS!! I am on a fabric search RIGHT now. I just had a baby and this will be the perfect look to hide the baby weight through the summer…

  6. I am absolutely in love with this skirt. I love long skirts! I would love to find fabric like this. I just bought a sewing machine so I'm learning how to sew. You are an inspiration for me! I hope I can be as good as you are one day and make something this beautiful! Jesshttp://thedelightfulcrafter.blogspot.com/

  7. I love your blog. I LOVE this skirt! I want to make it in several colours. My fabric is ready, my machine is ready, my brain is ready, my patience is ready, the pattern's on it's way BUT…I'm a VISUAL person.PLEASE, please….. pleaaaaase a video tut especially on the belt hoops and sash! I have no experience altering patterns and I'm terrified! LOL. Thanks so much for sharing al your sewing knowledge!

  8. I love you maxi skirt what pattern did you use to create it? I would love to see my skills put to the test I actually wanted to just buy one but it appears it's not for sale and this is a DIY thing 🙂 hope to hear which pattern you used did you find it on line?

  9. i love how your style is so effortlessly, casually, elegant! so well put together. i look at a pattern and don't even see how i can tweak it just a little. but wow, you make the simple skirt pattern look amazing. you inspire! and thank you for sharing.

  10. I finally found you!!! I've saw your picture on pintrest!! 🙂 like the many others asking are you going to sell this beautiful skirt of yours?? If so how much??

  11. I finally found you!!! I saw your skirt on pintrest… I have to have it. Like the many others asking, are you going to sell this beautiful skirt of yours?? Of so, how much?? Thanks!!!

  12. Hello! I discovered your lovely skirt on Pinterest today at 2:18 pm EST. I ran out to the fabric store, bought my material and am preparing to complete my sewing right now at 7:11 pm EST. I haven't sewn anything since college (2 decades ago)! Thank you so much for inspiring me with your love design.

  13. Hello! I have fallen in love with your blog. I made this skirt for a friend of mine after she sent me the link to your blog. I am making tons more as we speak. Love! Love! andreafenise(dot)com

  14. HELLO I Am New and THANK YOU FOR BEING YOU!!! I would Love some help finding the pattern to make this skirt!!! Or if you are willing to teach me, I am willing to learn. Thank you For your time Kirah

  15. Hello I am new here, and your are SUPER AMAZING!!!I wanted to know where did you find the pattern for this Skirt?? I would love to try to make it, and if you can share some pointers, I am here to listen and learn. Thank you Shakirah

Leave a Reply

