DIY Dress: Pattern Review McCalls 6553

Happy Monday!
Today was a chance to wear the latest dress I made using M6553, It is a super comfy dress to wear and so cute!
Here is my result!

Pattern Description: Very loose-fitting, pullover dress has princess seams, self-lined yoke back, side openings for self belt, back pleats/ neck slit with button/thread loop closing, and shaped hemline.


Pattern Sizing: I cut the 6 

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes 

Were the instructions easy to follow? They were pretty simple but if I make it again I will use RTW construction methods because she of the steps can be done better. 

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I was curious to see how the dress looked made up aside from the photo of the model on the envelope so I went ahead an made it and love it, it is so comfy and cute and the shaped hemline is really nice. 

Fabric Used: I used a dress weight red gabardine 

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn’t make any but if I make it again I will remove the pleat in the back because I didn’t like it after I made it and will replace it with gathers. 

Would you sew it again? I might in a jersey for a casual look. 

Would you recommend it to others? Yes!
I love the way it looks from the side!
Various Jewelry, Cat Eye Sunnies, Essie Polish “Trophy Wife” lol!

I am going to change the yoke method on this pattern if I make it again, I also hate the pleat and would rather it have gathers.

xoxo
mimi g.

56 thoughts on “DIY Dress: Pattern Review McCalls 6553

  1. I have no clue how to even turn on a sewing machine, but I check your blog every day to see what you've made. You have incredible talent!!! Blessings!! Evelyn

  2. Hi Mimi,I'm new to your blog. I'm about to cut this pattern, but the finished garment measurements seem like I should cut a 6. I'm normally a 10 in real life, and find that I usually have to cut patterns a couple of sizes above that. Do you find this one runs big, particularly in the bust?Many thanks from a new reader!H

  3. Hi Mimi,I'm new to your blog. I'm about to cut this pattern, but the finished garment measurements seem like I should cut a 6. I'm normally a 10 in real life, and find that I usually have to cut patterns a couple of sizes above that. Do you find this one runs big, particularly in the bust?Many thanks from a new reader!H

  4. Its pretty true to size and its a loose fitting dress so cut close the your actual measurements that match the finished measurements on the pattern, don't get stuck on their sizes they will never match anything anyway because they are ll made with a different amount of ease.

Leave a Reply

