DIY Denim Maxi: Pattern Review of Burda 7283 (modified)




Happy Monday!! 

I had the most amazing weekend and I want to share it with you but I can’t just yet, LOL I will soon, promise. For today I want to review Burda 7283 which I used to make this denim maxi skirt. I had been looking for one for a while and then forgot about it until I wanted to wear one on saturday and realized I didn’t own one so I pulled out this pattern because I knew what I wanted my skirt to look like and this pattern had the right style it just needed to be modified a bit. I LOVE my skirt!

Pattern Description Burda 7283Variant A knee-length, with snap fasteners. 

Pattern Sizing: I cut the 8 but it was still pretty big on me so I had to take it in a bit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Kind of, lol


Were the instructions easy to follow? The instructions on Burda patterns are pretty clear, they use good illustrations for newbies to understand and the instructions are clear.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the look of the skirt but I knew I wanted that style in a maxi so I added length.

Fabric Used: Denim

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I added length to make it a maxi and instead of using the snaps for the front as the pattern indicates for this view I chose the make the snaps non functioning and instead using an invisible zip in the CB so I didn’t have to worry about gaping between the snaps when I sat down.

Would you sew it again? I don’t know, there are so many other things I want to make but I do recommend it!

What I Wore
 DIY Denim Maxi, Neon Orange Tank @ Gap (similar here), Gifted Coach Bag Willis Collection from my oldest daughter 😉 Thank you baby girl!

xoxo
mimi g.
72 thoughts on “DIY Denim Maxi: Pattern Review of Burda 7283 (modified)

  1. I love your skirt too! It absolutely beautiful! That's a great unique fabric too! Did you purchase it like that or did you dye it yourself?

  2. Thank you so much mimi. .I truly look forward to your new posts…they make my day.This skirt IS the business…no doubt about it…it's ubber hot!Where is the "like" button when you need it. 🙂

  3. Dear Mimi,Very beautiful dress, excellent sewing skills and beautiful denim fabric.Keep up your good work and thank you for sharing this.Greeting from Europe.Have a nice day, Femke

Leave a Reply

