DIY Red Dress + Pattern Review NL 6123

Hello Darlings!
Well my son is feeling better and I am too so that is great! I am so excited about the repining and sharing of the Denim Maxi Tut I posted the other day πŸ˜‰ I have another tut in the works for next week so stay tuned. Today I am wearing a DIY dress I made using New Look Pattern 6123 View D, I love this dress…here is my review of the pattern.

Pattern Description: Misses’ dress with sleeve and bodice variations including flattering drape and ruffle detail. New Look sewing pattern.


Pattern Sizing: The smallest size is 8 so I cut that and then made changes to the patterns because I knew it would be too big in the bodice and waist. I ended up taking out almost 3.5″ from the bodice.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes I suppose it does.


Were the instructions easy to follow? They are really easy to understand and are pretty clear throughout.


What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like the pattern very much, I like the style of the dress and I really liked the flounce and sleeves. The one thing I should have done but failed to measure first was add length to the dress, I would have preferred it fall just below my knee.

Fabric Used: I used a Red Double Knit found HERE

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: aside from fitting adjustments I did not make any significant changes to the design; I did however fully line the dress using a red tricot fabric (HERE) because it called for facings and I HATE facings. Such a nice dress should have been lined anyway, they were trip pin by making it with facings.


Would you sew it again? No probably not but I will try the other views.


Would you recommend it to others? Yes

Dress Details

How I Wore It

BCBG Envelope Clutch (sold out) / Steve Madden Red Pumps HERE on sale $69
xoxo
mimi g.

89 thoughts on “DIY Red Dress + Pattern Review NL 6123

  1. Red on red looks good on you. All of your sewn/DIY garments are so professional looking and your eye for detail is superb! I'm pinning this on to make, Mama. I wish I had your flat tummy to go in this dress! Lol

  2. I have just discovered your blog and look forward that to every entry. This dress looks fabulous on you and is so well made. I'm quite envious that you had to make alterations to a size 8! You look fabulous everyday.

  3. Very nice.. I saw that pattern and passed it because I didn't like any of the necklines for my….upper body needs….lol. Additionally, the image on the package didn't look all that great, which is the unfortunate thing about sketches.But, the dress, coming to fruition was really very nice. You did a spectacular job. I am going to purchase the pattern and see if I can alter the neckline.Kandra

  4. Beautiful dress Mimi! BTW, you need to stop mentioning fabric stores….you have a serious fabricholic over here that's easily tempted, LOL. What's your process when purchasing fabric? For example, this dress(on you) I'm assuming took about a one yard? Would you buy a little more than that to make up for shrinkage when pretreating? Thanks!

  5. This dress is HOT! I love the tutorials you have been posting. Will you ever do a tutorial of you making a garment step by step, with the pattern? Maybe a sew along? We could follow along and make it together? I know it would take a lot time on your part, but I would be willing to pay to see that. It would be great to see your process of how you make the changes to the pattern to make it fit for you. Your garments always look so professional and well made.Thanks!!!Marla

  6. I really like that your style is so wearable and 'relatable'. I'm not into the whole "funky" thing after I get to a certain adult age, so I like that your style is fun, mature, sexy, and adult all at the same time. Also love your emphasis on accessories, which are underrated by most people, but are very important for pulling together an outfit. I've gotten lots of great ideas from your blog. Thanks for the instructional videos and great ideas!

Leave a Reply

