DIY Figure Flattering Florals + Tracy Reese Pattern Review V1314

Happy Monday Darlings! A few weeks back in this post I shared my plan for the floral fabric I ordered from Gorgeous Fabrics  to make my Tracy Reese V1314 dress so this weekend I took saturday to myself and got some sewing done. I made this dress, a pair of pants and a top which I will wear this week. Toay however I am feeling really lovely in my floral dress; here is my review of Vogue Pattern 1314 a Tracy Reese Design.

Vogue 1314 Tracy Reese

More pics below

Pattern Description: V1314 Misses Dress


Pattern Sizing: I cut the 6 but altered the pattern by grading down a good 3″ on the side seams.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? This pattern is REALLY easy to make, it’s just 2 seams and sleeves. The gathering is about as complicated as this gets if you are newbie but it is easy to follow.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked that the gathering was on both sides and in the front and back of the dress. I will say that for this being a designer pattern (Tracy Reese) it is really easy to make and a beginner seamstress could make it. I find that is is similar to the OOP V1020 that reviewed here and has been made by many 😉 the only difference really is the gathering on both sides.

Fabric Used: Jersey Knit with a 4 way stretch from Gorgeous Fabrics

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I had to take out several inches because even though I made the smallest size when I took the flat pattern measurement I knew it was going to be big. I ended up taking 3″ off the pattern before cutting into the fabric.

Would you sew it again? YES, this is oneof those patterns that you can make several times to build your wardbrobe, it can be made sleeveless, shorter and can be work with a coat, blazer, shawl, boots, heels etc.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes. If you are a newbie and want to give this a go I would say if you can handle my maxi skirt or dress you can do this for sure. If you are a seasoned seamstress you can sew this with your eyes closed, lol

Conclusion: I knew the minute I say that fabric that I woud be making this dress and I love it!

The Look

 DIY Dress / Lindsay Platforms HERE / Michael Kors Watch & Ring / Coach Bracelet & Ring

xoxo
mimi g.
79 thoughts on “DIY Figure Flattering Florals + Tracy Reese Pattern Review V1314

  1. Just darling!!! Love the print and the dress. I could make this like at least 10 times with some sleeve and hem alterations, as you mentioned. You body looks sooo good in the dress. Thanks Mimi, for another inspiring project!

  2. What is amazing about you is that you've taken a fabric many (including me) would have walked away or ran from and made it into something absolutely drool worthy. Bravo my dear.

  3. Hi Mimi, I usually just lurk your blog as well but I have to say that I have been following you ever since I first discovered your blog. I enjoy everything about it. My reason for commenting today is to ask you about how your store your clothing. Do you donate it regularly because you would have to have such a huge amount of it, if you keep it all. I ask this question because I have limited space and like you I love to shop and am now making some clothing. I have things in my closet that I have not wore for a long time but you know how it is….you never know when you will need that little dress or top. I have difficulty parting with my clothes and was wondering what your rule is for keeping, storing or passing it on.gg

  4. This is BEAUTIFUL! I have to admit I was skeptical when I first saw the fabric, but this turned out to be a lovely, classy looking dress. Of course it fits you perfectly. I can't wait to see what your pants and top!.

  5. Girl! I am nowhere near as good as you are. I just picked up sewing again (with my daughter) last month after being on hiatus for 10+ years. If comes out good, I'll send you a pic!CMC

Leave a Reply

