DIY Watercolor Maxi + Another Take on New Look Pattern 6123

Happy Wednesday Darlings, this week is moving fast and I am just working to keep up. I cant believe that summer is almost over but I live in Cali so the seasons changing don’t really “change” all that much; I can wear shorts in mid December sometimes because it stays so warm. 
Okay so I have made up this pattern 3 times now and I still can see using elements of the pattern for other things I want to make. I made the dress and wore it here and here and after making two versions I knew I could take the top of the purple one and make a maxi that I had wanted to make for a while and so I did. I wont review the pattern again because like I said I have made it and reviewed it twice (here are the reviews #1 and #2) and instead I will just show you my dress. 

Pattern New Look 6123 Modified

If you want to make yours into a maxi just follow the diagram and info at the bottom of this post.

 Necklace is from Urban Outfitters (old) / Sunnies are Kate Spade

Modifying NL 6123

Okay this is easy to do, place your pattern piece on the fabric just like you would if you were going to cut it out (front on fold) etc. Then mark the widest part of the hip and add the length you need for a maxi (reaching the floor) and mark, then add width to pattern at the hem (8-10″) and then gradually mark from the hip to the hem like in the dashed lines in the diagram.
xoxo
mimi g.

36 thoughts on “DIY Watercolor Maxi + Another Take on New Look Pattern 6123

  1. Bravo! I'm going to start attempting to sew. I'm carving out my daily schedule now to fit in some new exercise classes I've been spying on + sewing! Me time…me time! I'm gathering my tools a lil at a time each pay period. Lol. Thanks Mimi for the inspiration!

  2. This pattern has really worked well for you. I could see this used for a peplum top, too. I appreciate the sketch. I lengthened Simplicity 2226 to maxi length by extending out, too, and I wasn't sure whether to make the hem straight or slightly curved like A-line skirts. I ended up slightly curving it, but I think I should have done it this way.

  3. Is it possible to add sleeves and raise the neckline? I love the way you converted it to a maxi. I'd love to try it out but I'd prefer the slight changes to make it more modest. BTW…the fabric is really pretty too. (^_^)

  4. Thank you, Mimi! The dress is adorable on you. Thanks for sharing the variation for the maxi. I will definitely be using it. Have a great day!

  5. First let me say that I am in shock it's Wednesday. I honestly thought it was Tuesday until reading this post. Lol.Love the floral pattern and how you made the dress into a maxi. Gorgeous!

  6. Mimi I'm hating on you right now. That Maxi is beautiful, and the modifications you made are excellent. You make me want to sew every freaking single day of my life. LOL. Have a great day.

  7. I would have loved to get a back view. This one is cute with the floral, but my eye keeps looking to your waist at the seam line. I don't know maybe it me. You rock anything well anyway!keep on inspiring

Leave a Reply

